Blog Tour & Double Review: Slip of the Tongue by Jessica Hawkins

Slip of the Tongue BT Banner

 

Slip of the Tongue Cover

 

Sadie Hunt isn’t perfect—but her husband is. Nathan Hunt has her coffee waiting every morning. He holds her hand until the last second. He worships the Manhattan sidewalk she walks on. Until one day, he just…stops. And Sadie finds herself in the last place she ever expected to be. Lonely in her marriage.

When rugged and sexy Finn Cohen moves into the apartment across the hall, he and Sadie share an immediate spark. Finn reveals dreams for a different life. Sadie wants to save her marriage. Their secrets should keep them apart, not ignite a blistering affair. But while Sadie’s marriage runs colder by the day, she and Finn burn hotter.

Her husband doesn’t want her anymore. The man next door would give up everything to have her.

goodreads link

amazon link


 

slip of the tongue affair

 


 

Patricia‘s Review – 5 Stars: ☆☆☆☆

 

Slip of the TongueSlip of the Tongue by Jessica Hawkins

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Do you know what is like start a book and to be so enthralled by the story that you only put it down to be able to sleep? That was it for me… I read this book in one sitting!
This story is so good, so well written, so captivating that you feel yourself inside it, living the characters life!
The emotions the story bring to the reader are incredible! Angst, frustration, lust, love… I felt like my heart would slip from inside of me at some point!
The sizzling sex scenes are so perfect, some so dirty that you need to keep reminding that this is fiction!

Sadie had it all. A wonderful marriage, a fantastic husband but then all the sudden it all disappears. She starts feeling lonely, he’s never home, the messages are fewer and then when day she meets the new neighbor, a handsome sexy man who likes to flirt and she starts feeling not so lonely in his company. Lust, mostly, compels them.
Then there are secrets, misunderstandings and no communication between the married couple. The trust crumples and Sadie sees herself more and more into Finn until the inevitable happens.
I swear I spent the whole book wondering what Nathan was keeping from Sadie and I couldn’t find it. I was mad at him for not give it away… and that was the key for the mystery of this story and making this book so incredibly good!

Now, I need to 1 click every other book Jessica wrote, because I most certainly loved how she writes!

></a>

View all my reviews

 

Ana‘s Review 5 Stars: ☆☆☆☆☆

 

Slip of the TongueSlip of the Tongue by Jessica Hawkins

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

—Read and reviewed for The Bookery Review—

description

Slip of the tongue is an unusual kind of reading for me. The book contains some triggers and I must warn you: this book is too real, too close to reality. There is a fine line between fiction and reality in this book.

My guess is you will either love it or hate it. In my case, I loved it!

This book is everything. It’s good. It’s bad (not in a bad way). It’s brilliant, it’s remarkable, and it’s mesmerizing. It’s impossible to stay away from this book. It is impossible to remain indifferent to the feelings that this book awakens. It’s intense. It’s brutal.

Sadie and Nathan are the usual happily ever after married couple. They are perfect to each other until one day, they just … aren’t. After seven years of marriage, something happens and Sadie sees herself in a situation no woman is immune to. She loves her perfect husband but she’s feeling attracted to another man. The guy next door. Finn is hot and tender. And he will do everything to make her happy. The question is: how much will it cost in Sadie’s life?
The story is very well conceived. Somethings, I never saw them coming. Jessica Hawkins had the ability to leave me breathless sometimes. What an amazing book!
The characters are well developed and complex.

I had mixed feelings towards Sadie, Nathan and even Finn. There were times I hated Sadie. But then, as a woman, I found myself thinking exactly like her. Then I hated Nathan. But at the same time, I thought, yes, he’s right. And then I hated Finn and I thought: why is he doing this? He knows she’s married! Yes, but he loves her. Can you blame him for trying?
The complexity of marriage! That’s what this book is all about!

First lesson: Don’t be so quick to judge. You never know when you might just find yourself walking in that person’s shoes.
Second lesson: It’s never only one’s fault.
Third lesson: Fate sucks sometimes!

I understood Sadie. I understood Nathan. I understood Finn.
I can’t judge any of them. Who can? I can’t even say if I’m team Nathan or team Finn after all they have been through.
All I can say is that I need to know more about them. I need to know what’s going to happen. This cannot end like this. I’m not done with them and hopefully neither is Jessica Hawkins.

– Creativity: 5 stars
– Cover: 5 stars
– Plot: 5 stars
– Characters: 5 stars
– Darkness: N/A
– End: 5 stars
– Hotness: 5 stars
– Angst: 5 stars
– Editing: 5 stars

I highly recommend it and I give it 5 stars!

View all my reviews

 


 

Excerpt

 

In his dimly-lit kitchen, Finn lays a comforting hand on my shoulder. “I have to tell you something.”

My hairline prickles. I can sense whatever he says will be heavy, and I’m not sure I want to hear it. I force a crooked smile that probably looks as awkward as I feel. Since I just fed Ginger, I joke, “What? I smell like dog food?”

“I want to kiss you,” he says without missing a beat. “I won’t, but I just thought you should know.”

My stomach drops as if I’m in free fall. I bite my lip involuntarily, then release it, afraid it’ll look like an invitation. Can he really come out and say that? Without prompting, without wavering? You can want to kiss someone and not say it. Should I be angry he confessed that? I’m not. I’m curious. Stirred, even. And because we’re being honest, I ask what I want to ask. “Why?”

“Why do I want to kiss you? Or why did I tell you?”

My heart rate picks up. I lose my nerve. “The second one. That’s not the kind of thing you just come out and say to a stranger. A married stranger.”

“I like you.” He absentmindedly caresses the nape of my neck with his fingertip. “So I want to be honest.”

I put my hand over his wrist, and he stops. Now, and for the last hour, it’s as if we’re the only two people on the planet. The Bad Wife and the Stranger. If I let him kiss me, nobody would ever know. After all, Nathan might be kissing someone else too. Why else would he have lipstick on his tie? Finn doesn’t wear lipstick. Neither do I. It would be our secret.

“You’re leaving, aren’t you?” he asks.

Am I? I have to. I don’t trust myself to stay, and I don’t trust myself to speak, so I nod. I don’t have to pull his hand away. He takes it back willingly. And he walks me to his door.

 


 

About Jessica Hawkins

 

Jessica Hawkins grew up between the purple mountains and under the endless sun of Palm Springs, California. She studied international business at Arizona State University and has also lived in Costa Rica and New York City. To her, the most intriguing fiction is forbidden, and that’s what you’ll find in her stories. Currently, she resides wherever her head lands, which is often the unexpected (but warm) keyboard of her trusty MacBook.

 

Connect with the Author:

Website: www.jessicahawkins.net

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/jessicahawkinsauthor

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jessica_hawkins/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/jess_hawk

Follow my Amazon Author Page: http://amzn.to/1aFhenW

For more info, join the Jessica Hawkins mailing list: http://www.jessicahawkins.net/mailing-list.html

3 thoughts on “Blog Tour & Double Review: Slip of the Tongue by Jessica Hawkins

Leave a Reply

